Home » Uncategorized » The Gourmet Cupcake Conundrum: To Consume, Or Not To Consume?

The Gourmet Cupcake Conundrum: To Consume, Or Not To Consume?

this is so cool!

Sugar, Spice, Etc

I got this interesting infographic via Frugal Dad, about the wonders and blunders of the cupcake industry in the United States. The data in the infographic made my eyes grow wide…the gourmet cupcake industry in the United States is worth about $6 billion! That is quite a statistic. I was also introduced to terms I never even knew existed: butter mafia and flour explosions! There is a darker side to this cupcake revolution.

I realized that urban India is also experiencing a cupcake revolution of sorts. So many gourmet bakeries popping up in our metros, all of them with the promise of the finest, word-class ingredients. (Think butter from Norway, cocoa from Denmark and cupcake liners from France.) When I read Adam’s article, I was reminded of cupcakes during my childhood: they were very much part of our goody basket, but they weren’t such a big deal. My friends brought homemade cupcakes in their lunchboxes once in…

View original post 183 more words

2 thoughts on “The Gourmet Cupcake Conundrum: To Consume, Or Not To Consume?

Leave a Reply

