Home » baking » i should be blogging every day…

i should be blogging every day…

i have too much to say on a daily basis, but once i get on my computer, my brain goes blank. this is why i should write everything down. i have personal jotter cards, a journal, a pocket calendar, an address book, and a planner in my purse and i can’t even write down what i want to put in my blogs. i should just write them on my hand so i don’t forget…

so here goes my past few days…

yeah, i’ve never been this obsessed with anyone’s cupcakes. sugar queen cupcakes are cupcakes i want to eat for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. i love how dense and moist their cupcakes are. but these cupcakes weren’t for me. they were someone’s special surprise a few days ago. 

 

the papyrus holiday cards have arrived! and the HANDMADES are prettier than ever!! i’m so stoked! guess which one in that picture i will be getting! i love our papyrus handmade boxed sets. they come in a box of 8 cards and lined envelopes for $24.95. they can have anything from felt cutouts to gems, laser cuts, glitter, ribbons, and more. i had the picture enlarged so y’all could see the embellishments on the cards. enjoy.

 

i had a nice and relaxing past few days. it’s rare that i don’t think about doing work when i’m at home, so the past 2 days felt like a semi-vacation, which was nice. my dad would get a kick out of the fact that i probably watched more sports in the past 2 days than i have in the past year. that’s probably including the movie “moneyball” that i watched recently…i’m not sure. haha.

 

i have the motherload of all cupcake projects.

150 cupcakes with purple high heels.

aaaaaaaaaah!!!!!!!!

so i did my research…

this was the best decoration i saw online, but i don’t know if that’s edible…if it is, then that’s one TINY BRUSH being used to make that zebra print on there!

when i was told that the color was purple, i IMMEDIATELY thought of these gorgeous cupcakes that my friend, michelle, made last year. she made them for her daughter, and i thought they were AH-MAZING:

that purple/silver combo is one of my favorite color combinations. this picture looks like it came out of a magazine. i love following michelle’s facebook because she bakes and makes these amazing creations that i’ve either never heard of or never tried…like PIG CAKE! i have known michelle for about 10 years now. back when i was 19 (now you all know my real age), i went to a valentine’s dinner with my mom, aunt, and grandmother. a few days later, my friend, grace, told me that michelle saw me at the dinner and wanted me to join the 2001 MISS NMI UNIVERSE pageant. first reaction: NO. second reaction: WHAT!? third reaction: take grace with me to watch “miss congeniality” with sandra bullock to see what this beauty pageant business was about. fourth reaction: if one of the most beautiful women on the island tells you to join a beauty pageant, you take it as a great compliment and you join it. i think all of us looked at michelle as the women we wanted to be-she’s so elegant and feminine and classy. she was engaged at the time and would tell us stories of her then-fiance-now-husband and all the sweet things he would do for her or surprise her with. we were just a bunch of giddy girls every time michelle told us stories. i loved it. i loved that year. now michelle is happily married with 2 beautiful daughters. she’s such a beautiful fairy tale. ❤ there’s my little story and picture inspiration that michelle kindly allowed me to post! thank you, michelle!

in between thinking of what i could do for the cupcakes, i got the chance to pick up my little man from school! he’s my favorite shopping partner, so i decided to plan a trip to michaels right after the school pick up. i was hoping to find edible silver paint, but i didn’t find any. i found silver powder, though. and halloween products:

i always have fun when my nephew poses for pictures and gets creative!

my mom told me that i needed to take my nephew on a mc donald’s date…well, she told me this months ago…but better late than never. besides, he knew it was going to happen.

walking into michaels…

“ra ra, can we get something to eat in here (michaels)? i’m actually hungry” (“actually” seems to be his word of the month)

“no, punkin. there’s no food in here. what do you feel like eating?”

“i think we should go to mc donald’s. i’m sure there’s one around here somewhere.”

there you go, mom. proof that i have completed my task. he needs about 5 more years on him before i take him out to a dinner date like you want me to do. i can handle him in any store and any fast food place, but NOT in a restaurant. not yet, at least.

the project high heel cupcakes will be for october 22, but i decided to try cutting some today just to get some creative ideas going. i bought a bunch of magazine last week to read up on some current trends:

back home, in saipan, my mom and i would stock up on our monthly magazines. i decided to start that habit again, just to make sure i’m up to date with everything that is going on in the fashion world. one of these came in handy when i was looking for pictures of heels that i could cut out…i didn’t know whether i wanted to do one type of heel or a few. i decided to do 3 pairs of heels:

 

all my supplies were brought to you by wilton. it’s a good thing i am starting early on this project because i don’t like the first run i did on the shoes. i want embellishments on the shoes, definitely. the silver powder didn’t show up how i thought it would. the pearl sprinkles will not be used on the shoes because they just don’t look right. there will be some painting, but i also want BLING. hopefully there is such thing as edible crystals. little edible crystals. i could make these shoes look spectacular with NON-EDIBLE supplies, but i’m too scared that someone might take a bite into the decoration on accident. i’ll do more decoration research before i decide on how to decorate the shoes. for now, i made 4 blank cut outs of each shoe because i dyed and rolled out a lot of fondant and i didn’t want to waste it.

my shoe inspiration is one of the cut outs that i blew up to fit the whole page and taped to my bedroom wall:

i thought that was just a graphic until i found out that it really is a shoe….that costs about $530. woooooo! that brand, jellyfish, sells hand painted shoes and accessories that are out of CTRL. they’re so cool, and that shoe is just insane!

my next few weeks are going to be jam-packed with tons of fun and work. parties. weddings. the state fair of texas. TAYLOR SWIFT! pool league. project high heel cupcakes. business training. the beginning of the holiday season. where has the year gone!? i wish i blogged earlier this year so i could read back on how the past 9 months flashed before my eyes. this has definitely been the busiest year i have had to date. “time flies when you’re having fun.” wow, it’s so true. i have many, many people to thank for that. and that leads me to my next paragraph.

next year is going to be big. it’s going to be my year. it’s not so much the part about being the big 30 (although it’s not all that bad), but more because all good things will happen. and i’m excited. i don’t think i’ve ever been this excited going into the next year as i have been lately. i thank all my friends and family for their support in the decisions that i make and have made.

on that note, you all have a good night, and enjoy my little fondant fun:

xoxo

Leave a Reply

